Fender king dating
At the beginning of the "tweed" era, Fender constructed many of its cabinets in "TV front" style, changing around 1950 predominantly to the "wide panel", where the top and bottom panels are wider than the side.
Fender later constructed them with "narrow panel", in which all the panels have more or less the same width.
They included the Model 26 Deluxe, the Princeton, and the Professional.
Fender amplifiers became established with the tweed series, wood cases covered in varnished cotton twill in the manner of suitcases of the era.
In its acoustic line the standard Fender bolt-on neck design was carried over from the company's popular array of electric guitars and basses.
This unique configuration married a high quality neck more akin to a Fender electric guitar than a typical acoustic instrument attached to a standard sized acoustic dreadnought body.
The first of these were the K&F models, produced between 19.
In 1965-66 the name "King" was changed to "Kingman" and finally discontinued with the entire critically derided and poorly selling acoustic line in 1971.
(The nickname is a misnomer, as tweed is a coarse woollen fabric, often woven in a twill pattern.) They were produced for more than a decade.
The first cloth used was an off-white fabric, followed by a horizontal-stripe two-tone pattern, and finally a two-tone twill.
In a steel case, most were finished in a "gray crinkle" finish, baked in the Kauffman family oven.
They were made in three sizes, 1×8" (one 8-inch speaker), 1×10", and 1×15".